In Numbers: Cemaes Bay’s 2019/20 Anglesey League winning side

PICTURE by Wynne Evans.

CEMAES BAY’S Anglesey League winning side of 2019/20 were finally able to celebrate that success on Saturday after months of waiting.

Squad members gathered at School Lane to pose with the trophy and reminisce on a fantastic campaign for the club, following what was the final season of the Anglesey League in its current form.

In the picture below taken by Wynne Evans are (L-R); BACK ROW: Gez Owen (assistant manager), Darren Thomas (manager), Tam Morton, Alan Gray (assistant manager), Nick Owen, Gwion Jones, Dan Jones, Keenan Downey (Captain), Matty O’Hara, Dylan Jones, Rhys Lloyd, Dafydd Jones and Todd Cusick. FRONT ROW: Steven Whittaker, Deio Rowlands, Shane Pell, Daniel Jones, Luke McKittrick, Sol Williams, Daniel Howes, Josh Griffiths and Ryan Folksman.

A truly formidable side indeed and here are the squad details (the ones I have anyway) from the title-winning campaign:

MANAGEMENT TEAM: Darren Thomas (manager), Alan Gray (assistant) and Gez Owen (assistant)

GOALKEEPERS: Daniel “Patch” Jones and John “Chimpy” Jones

DEFENDERS: Dylan Jones, Nick Owen, Shane Pell, Deio Rowlands, Rhys Lloyd, Lewis Connor (transferred to Llanerchymedd) and Sam Carter

MIDFIELDERS/WINGERS: Keenan Downey (Captain), Sol Williams, Ryan Folksman, Luke McKittrick, Dafydd Jones, Chris Hughes, Gethin Hughes, Gwion Jones, Tam Morton, Daniel Jones, Daniel Howes, Josh Griffiths and Matty O’Hara

ATTACKERS: Steven “Tyco” Whittaker, Chris Byast (transferred to Amlwch Town), Andy Williams and Todd Cusick


GOALS: Steven Whittaker (39), Andy Williams (19), Keenan Downey (15), Dylan Jones (9), Dafydd Jones (9), Daniel Jones (8), Lewis Connor (8), Ryan Folksman (7), Todd Cusick (6), Tam Morton (5), Luke McKittrick (4), Chris Byast (2), Sol Williams (2), Dan Howes (2), Nick Owen (2), Matty O’Hara (1), Gethin Hughes (1), Sam Carter (1), Rhys Lloyd (1) and Josh Griffiths (1)

PICTURE: Wynne Evans

ASSISTS: Steven Whittaker (23), Keenan Downey (19), Dafydd Jones (19), Ryan Folksman (10), Andy Williams (6), Josh Griffiths (6), Daniel Jones (5), Luke McKittrick (5), Rhys Lloyd (4), Tam Morton (4), Todd Cusick (4), Dylan Jones (3), Matty O’Hara (3), Nick Owen (2), Gethin Hughes (1), Deio Rowlands (1), Sol Williams (1), Gwion Jones (1), Daniel Howes (1), Shane Pell (1)

MAN OF THE MATCHES: Keenan Downey (6), Steven Whittaker (4), Dylan Jones (3), Ryan Folksman (3), Andy Williams (2), Nick Owen (1), Daniel Jones (1), Rhys Lloyd (1), Shane Pell (1).

Thanks to Cemaes Captain Keenan Downey for sending me the above stats!

Cemaes Bay assistant manager Alan Gray and manager Darren Thomas pick up Anglesey League title from league president Dennis Bryant. PICTURE: Wynne Evans

Further good news for Cemaes Bay this week was the confirmation that the 2019/20 Dargie Cup final will be played when the time is right. The very last Dargie final will see Darren Thomas’ Bay side take on Tom Scott’s exciting Holyhead Hotspur Reserves in what should be a fantastic encounter to “end the season” properly.

Most squad members have already re-committed ahead of the 2020/21 campaign, with former Bro Goronwy manager Lee Potter also set to join the clubs management team in a move which should undoubtedly come as a further boost to this brilliant side.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s