ANGLESEY LEAGUE: A brief history of title-winners and past participants

PICTURE by Anglesey League shows Pentraeth crowned champions in 2012/13.

WITH the Anglesey League as we know it expected to come to an end this season, I thought it was high time to take a quick look back at some of its most successful sides during more than 120 seasons of history.

I’ve dug into the archives to find what I could on previous title winners and have collated them together (some are missing and other seasons were postponed due to the wars).


1897/98 – Menai Bridge (17pts)

1921/22 – Holyhead Alexandra Rovers (31pts)
1922/23 – Beaumaris St Mary’s (25 pts)
1923/24 – Llanfairpwll (37pts)
1929/30 – Beaumaris (25pts)

1933/34 – Llangefni Town (12pts)
1934/35 – Holyhead Locos (unknown)
1937/38 – Llandegfan (18pts)

1946/47 – Amlwch Sports Club (44pts)
1947/48 – Amlwch Town (37pts)
1948/49 – Amlwch Town (44pts)
1949/50 – Amlwch Town (38pts)

1950/51 – Amlwch Town (38pts)
1951/52 – Llangefni Town (27pts)
1952/53 – Aberffraw (23pts)
1953/54 – Llanfairpwll (39pts)
1954/55 – Newborough (53pts)
1955/56 – Newborough (45pts)
1956/57 – Gwalchmai (49pts)
1957/58 – Newborough (47pts)
1958/59 – Gwalchmai (49pts)
1959/60 – Gwalchmai (56pts)

1960/61 – Newborough (52pts)
1961/62 – Brynsiencyn (42pts)
1962/63 – Brynsiencyn (37pts)
1963/64 – Aberffraw (35pts)
1964/65 – Newborough (38pts)
1965/66 – Newborough (28pts)
1966/67 – Newborough (33pts)
1967/68 – Holyhead Town Reserves (35pts)
1968/69 – Newborough (34pts)
1969/70 – Holyhead Town Res (39pts)

1970/71 – Amlwch Town (40pts)
1971/72 – Amlwch Town (43 pts)
1972/73 – Llangoed & District (48pts)
1973/74 – Llandegfan (45pts)
1974/75 – Llanfairpwll (55pts)
1975/76 – Llanfairpwll (61pts)
1976/77 – Llanfairpwll (59pts)
1977/78 – Beaumaris Town (27pts)
1978/79 – Beaumaris Town (36pts)
1979/80 – Holyhead Town (25pts)

1980/81 – Llangefni Town (28pts)
1981/82 – Llanfairpwll (33pts)
1982/83 – Llanfairpwll (30pts)
1983/84 – Llanerchymedd (53pts)
1984/85 – ??
1985/86 – Holyhead Town (31pts)
1986/87 – Gwalchmai (58pts)
1987/88 – Holyhead Town (27pts)
1988/89 – Llangoed (50pts)
1989/90 – Gwlachmai (58pts)

1990/91 – Bodedern (45pts)
1991/92 – Bodedern (44pts)
1992/93 – Llangefni Town Res (94pts)
1993/94 – Gwalchmai (89pts)
1994/95 – Holyhead Hotspur (78pts)
1995/96 – Holyhead Hotspur (72pts)
1996/97 – Amlwch Town (60pts)
1997/98 – Gwalchmai (50pts)
1998/99 – Bodedern (52pts)
1999/2000 – Cemaes Bay (37pts)

2000/01 – Gwalchmai (27pts)
2001/02 – Beaumaris Town (42pts)
2002/03 – Llangefni Town Res (33pts)
2003/04 – Holyhead Gwelfor Athletic (44pts)
2004/05 – Gaerwen (45pts)
2005/06 – Amlwch Town
2006/07 – Holyhead Gwelfor Athletic (46pts)
2007/08 – Gwalchmai (40pts)
2008/09 – Pentraeth Nurseries (46pts)
2009/10 –Bro Goronwy (41pts)

PICTURE: Wynne Evans

2010/11 – Trearddur Bay United (58pts)
2011/12 – Morawelon (53pts)
2012/13 – Pentraeth (64pts)
2013/14 – Menai Tigers (44pts)
2014/15 – Valley Athletic (33pts)
2015/16 – Bro Goronwy (40pts)
2016/17 – Holyhead Town (38pts)
2017/18 – Mynydd Tigers (39pts)
2018/19 – Bryngwran Bulls (46pts) – PICTURED ABOVE


Summary of titles won
Nine – Gwalchmai and Amlwch Town
Eight – Newborough
Seven – Llanfairpwll
Five – Beaumaris Town/St Mary’s
Three – Llangefni Town
Three – Bodedern
Two – Bro Goronwy, Holyhead Hotspur, Llangefni Town Res, Holyhead Town Res, Aberffraw, Pentraeth/Nurseries, Holyhead Town, Llangoed, Brynsiencyn, Holyhead Gwelfor Athletic, Menai Bridge/Tigers and Llandegfan.
One – Trearddur Bay United, Gaerwen, Valley Athletic, Cemaes Bay, Llanerchymedd, Bryngwran Bulls, Mynydd Tigers, Morawelon, Holyhead Alexandra Rovers and Holyhead Locos.


Full list of clubs who have played in the Anglesey League divisions over the years (According to records):


Aberffraw, Aberffraw (United), Amlwch Town, Amlwch Town Reserves, Amlwch SC, Amlwch Port, Arriva Bangor.


Babcock & Wilcox, Beaumaris Central, Beaumaris Town, Beaumaris St Mary’s, Benllech, Benllech & District, Benllech & District Reserves, Brynsiencyn, Bryngwran BC, Bryngwran Bulls, Bodedern, Bodedern Reserves, Bodorgan, Bodffordd, Bodwrog, Bethesda Reserves.


Caergybi, Cefni, Cemaes Bay, Cemaes Bay Reserves, Conwy United Reserves.




Fryars (Beaumaris)


Gaerwen, Gaerwen Reserves, Gaerwen Institute, Gwalchmai, Gwalchmai Reserves, Glantraeth, Glantraeth Reserves, Glantraeth United.


Holyhead United, Holyhead United Juniors, Holyhead United Juniors Reserves, Holyhead Locos, Holyhead Swifts, Holyhead Alexandra Rovers, Holyhead Liberals, Holyhead Town, Holyhead Town Reserves, Holyhead Mountain Rangers, Holyhead Mountain Rangers Reserves, Holyhead Tigers, Holyhead Gwelfor Athletic, Holyhead Hotspur, Holyhead Hotspur Reserves, Holy Isle.


Llanbedrgoch, Llanddona, Llandegfan, Llandegfan Antelope, Llaneilian, Llanerchymedd, Llanerchymedd Reserves, Llanerchymedd Bulls, Llanerchymedd Stars, Llanfairpwll, Llanfairpwll Reserves, Llangefni Town, Llangefni Town Reserves, Llangefni Athletic, Llangoed, Llangoed & District, Llangoed & District Reserves, Llangristiolus, Llangefni-Glantraeth, Llandudno Junction Reserves, Llanfairfechan Town Reserves.


Maes Y Bryn, Menai Bridge (Tigers), Menai Bridge Town, Moelfre, Morawelon, Mynydd Llandegai Reserves, Mynydd Tigers, Mountain Rangers.


Newborough, Newborough Amateurs.


Penmon, Pentraeth, Pentraeth Nurseries, Pentraeth Ty Newydd, Plasnewydd.


RAF Valley, RAF Valley B, Rhosneigr, Rhosybol.


Saunders Roe (Beaumaris), Silver Bay Caravan Park, Silver Bay Scimitars.


Trearddur Bay, Trearddur Bay Reserves, Trearddur Bay United, Ty Croes RA, Tynygongl, TERA Ty Croes.


Valley, Valley Juniors.


Whessoe, Wylfa Power Station.

So in total, just over 100 different clubs (or under different names) have played during the league’s existence.


Other records
Most points collected in a season: Llangefni Town Res (94pts, 1992/93)
Least points collected in a season: Bethesda Reserves (-2pts, 2016/17)
First team to reach 100 goals in a league season: Menai Tigers (1946/47)
Most goals scored (club): Newborough (186 goals, 1959-60 in a 30 team league)
Most goals conceded: Llanfairpwll (202 goals, 1959-60 in a 16 team league)


Have any information you think I may have missed out? Feel free to get in touch!

3 thoughts on “ANGLESEY LEAGUE: A brief history of title-winners and past participants

  1. Hi I have a team photograph of Llanfair P G football team season 1921-22. The team have a shield trophy. My grandfather is one of the players, but Unfortunately I can only guess which one of the players he is. If you send me contact details I could forward a copy of the photo for your perusal. Thank you.

    Tegryd Hughes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The year that has no winner namely 84/85 season the winners were Llannerchymedd,I know this as I was the manager.Could the list of winners be changed to reflect this fact .Not sure how many points


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s