LUCAS OIL ANGLESEY LEAGUE: Bryngwran Bulls are the 2018/19 Champions

PICTURE by Wynne Evans.

WELL, there you have it folks, it’s all over once again. Richard Owen’s dominant Bryngwran Bulls have stampeded their way to the 2018/19 Lucas Oil Anglesey League title.

Their 3-0 win over Arriva Bangor last night saw them earn the three points they needed to pip Caergybi, who had already played their 20 games, to the post. Bryngwran finished on 46 points, with Cybi in second on 45 points.

Top scorer Craig Moore set The Bulls on their way to the title by netting a penalty within the first five minutes of the tie. Despite missing quite a few spot kicks this season, he made no mistake this time around, confidently dispatching the penalty, sending goalkeeper Dion Lewis the wrong way, to net his 57th goal of the season. Soon after it was 2-0 when the in-form Gwynfor Owen got in behind the defence, took the ball round Lewis and slotted the ball home.

Owen gets in to score. PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

The tie could have been turned on its head had referee Heinz Broering let the crowd get to him on 25mins. Bulls Goalkeeper Konner Druce came rushing off his line to chop down Arriva’s Liam Jones, who was through on goal. Many felt it could have been a red card for a “last man” challenge, but the man in the middle gave a yellow.

Take nothing away from Bryngwran though, who were superb throughout in the match they most needed to be. They killed the game off with a third goal before half time – Matt Reynolds’ strike hit Matty Roberts in the face and the ball found its way in past Dion Lewis.

A quiet second half of very few chances saw the scoreline remain the same as The Bulls held out for a memorable win to finally be crowned champions after years of narrowly missing out.

Last season, they lost out on the final day to Mynydd Tigers, who were eventually promoted to the Gwynedd League in their place. Credit to them though, they have bounced back in style and with new faces, new grit and new determination, they’ve got what they deserved this season.

Full credit to both Caergybi and Arriva Bangor too though, as they had pushed the eventual champions all the way.

Commenting on his side’s successes this season, Bulls manager Richard Owen (below) said: “There’s an amazing feeling this year at the club as this is possibly the best squad I have had here. This year the main target was the league despite the strong teams that was in it, and around October / December we were chasing and the win v Caergybi (3-2) before Christmas got all the lads believing we could do it.

PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

“We knew we had a good shout as we only had two league games left to play between Christmas and mid April. The league took a back seat but a stumble against Cefni (2-1 loss) meant we had to beat Arriva. Learning from last year, where we needed a draw to win the league in the final game and lost, we decided we really had to go for it early on this time and so flying into an early 3-0 lead eased a few nerves. By that point, I was pretty confident and almost went home to watch Spurs, but thought I better not!

“Last year, not applying to go up (to Gwynedd League) meant a lot of lads dropped their levels and the focus went a little. Like I said this time around, our main target was the league – everything else we’re still involved in is a bonus but 100% effort will still be put into it.

“On a personal note, I am extremely proud of the lads for this achievement and for being part of such a small village club that has so much heart and support. It’s a good time to be a Bull and with a baby boy on the way next week, I might just name him Lucas after this win!”

PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

FACTS about the Bulls’ title winning season …
Points: 46
Won: 14
Draws: 4
Lost: 2
Goals scored: 91
Goals against: 33
Top three scorers: Craig Moore (57 goals), Matty Roberts (18 goals) and Jerome Sillence (13 goals)
Captain: Iolo Jones
Usual line-up: 4-3-3 – Konner Druce (GK), John Jones (RB), Anton Williams (CB), Arwyn Williams (CB), Tom Verburg (LB), Matt Reynolds (CM, Iolo Jones (CM), Nik Konotodios (CM), Matty Roberts (LW), Craig Moore (ST), Jerome Sillence (RW)

Trophies won: Elias Cup (2-0 v Arriva Bangor)
Finals reached: Dargie Cup (Lost 2-1 to Caergybi), Lucas Oil Cup (to be played this Friday v Caergybi), Car Boot Cup (to be played v Arriva Bangor) and Junior Cup (to be played v Bro Goronwy)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s