Caergybi crowned Dargie Cup champions (+ results from other leagues)

PICTURE by Trevor Owen shows Caergybi manager Dale Moffat with assistant James Jones and the Dargie Cup.

LUCAS OIL DARGIE CUP (Friday, April 19)

Caergybi 2 (Justin Williams, James Ryan)
Bryngwran Bulls 1 (Gwynfor Owen)

Luke McKittrick lifts the Dargie Cup. PICTURE: Trevor Owen.

CAERGYBI are this year’s winners of the Anglesey League’s prestigious Lucas Oil Dargie Cup after beating Bryngwran Bulls 2-1 in the final on Friday night.

Dale Moffat’s side battled hard to claim the trophy – their second since forming as a club in the summer of 2017. They claimed the Megan Cup against Bryngwran last season, with a 3-2 victory.

On Friday night, Justin Williams opened the scoring for Caergybi to put them in charge of the game before James Ryan returned to haunt his former club (who he hit 54 goals for last season), by bagging his 72nd of the 2018/19 camapign. A late strike from Gwynfor Owen was not enough to help The Bulls fight their way back into the game as Cybi went on to be crowned champions of the “cup that everyone wants to win”.

Ryan scored against his former club. PICTURE: Trevor Owen.

Both teams have now won a trophy each this season, with Bryngwran having claimed the Elias Cup via a 2-0 win over Arriva Bangor just three weeks ago.

The Bulls’s game against Arriva on April 30 is now the all-important one. Anything but a win for Richard Owen’s side would hand Caergybi the Anglesey League title.

This time last year, The Bulls needed just a point to win the league against Mynydd Tigers. However, it wasn’t to be as the latter pulled off a 4-2 win to be crowned champions. Surely history won’t repeat itself this time around? (Caergybi will certainly be hoping it does!)

Dewi Thomas (Black and white) on the ball for Caergybi. PICTURE: Trevor Owen.



Saturday, April 20:
Bontnewydd 1 (Tecwyn Peris 6′)
Llanystumdwy 2 (Sion Guto 29′, Rob Griffith 75′)

Mynydd Tigers 0
Gwalchmai 2 (Mark Griffiths 38′, Gwion Thomas 90′)


Redmond scored again for The Tigers on Saturday, taking his tally for the season to 35. PICTURE: Wynne Evans.

Nefyn United 3 (Carl Jones 10′, Mark Jones 44′, Steve Jones 100′)
Menai Tigers 4 (Callum Graves 45′, 120′ Sion Hogan 59′, Dean Redmond 110′)

The Tigers fought their way back from 2-0 down to turn this tie on its head and as always, the match between these two sides proved to be a thriller.

Nefyn who had beaten Menai 5-0 in the Bob Owen Memorial Shield final put up another great fight in this one but it wasn’t to be in the end as The Tigers, who came into the tie having been shocked 3-0 by Waunfawr in the league days earlier, came out on top in Extra Time.

Monday, April 22:
Menai Tigers



Saturday, April 20:
Kinmel Bay 2 (Daniel Whittaker 30′, Matthew Harrison 90′)
Penmaenmawr Phoenix 0

Llanerchymedd 0
Pwllheli 3 (Daniel Buckley 87′, Steffan Toplis 90′, Tomos Jones 90′)

Y Felinheli 1 (Ifan Eryr 7′)
Llannefydd 1 (Ynyr Clwyd 27′)

Matches taking place tonight (Monday, April 22, 6.30pm ko)

Holyhead Town v Pwllheli



Saturday, April 20:
Barmouth Dyffryn 1 (Bobby Griffiths 75′)
Llangefni Town 3 (Kevin Lloyd (P) 12′, Liam Morris 48′, Matthew Jones 74′)

Llandudno Albion 5 (Peter Jones 8′, 39′, 81′, Adam Hold 42′, Dave Maddox 64′)
Bodedern Athletic 1 ((Aiden Clarke 48′)

Llanrug United 5 (Llion Jones 13′, 52′, Gareth Lloyd Jones 79′, 81′, Carl Griffiths 90′)
Llandyrnog United 1 (David Clayton 18′)

Nantlle Vale 2 (Shaun Williams 41′, Rhys Williams 50′)
Llanrwst United 1 (Steffan Whiteley 47′)

Penrhyndeudraeth 2 (Steve Jones 9′, Meilir Williams 88′)
Mynydd Llandegai 3 (Andrew Barker 1′, 77′, Gavin Owen 58′)

Matches taking place tonight (Monday, April 22, 6.30pm ko)

Bodedern Athletic v Llanrug United
Nantlle Vale v Llangefni Town
Prestatyn Sports v Penrhyndeudraeth



Porthmadog are the Reserves League champions for 2018/19!

Saturday, April 20:
4 (Huw Barwick 50′, 58′, 84′, Owain Jones 63′)
Conwy Borough 2 (Anthony Gustafson 23′, Cory Young 48′)

Llangefni Town 6 (Steve Jones 5′, 45′, Cameron Jones 10′, 33′, 71′, 88′)
Llandyrnog United 1 (Billy Holmes 27′)

Porthmadog 10 (Sion Parry 3′, 35′, 55′, 56′, 60′, 63′, 68′, Rhys Hughes 5′, Guto Gwenallt 24′, Aaron Hughes 88′)
Prestatyn Town 0

Porthmadog’s second string were crowned champions in formidable fashion as goal machine Sion Parry ran riot against Prestatyn.

The lethal striker bagged seven (taking his tally for the season to 37) and helped Sion Eifion’s side claim the title with two games remaining. They are yet to lose in the league this season.

Pwllheli 3 (Lee Fletcher 35′, Cai Huws 40′, 51′)
Kinmel Bay 1 (Jonathan Mee 20′)

Matches taking place tonight (Monday, April 22):

Llangefni Town v Porthmadog
Llanrwst United v Pwllheli


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s